Gainful Employment Information: 

Download our Gainful Employment Disclosure

Licensing Requirements for the State of Michigan are: 

  • Cosmetology - 1500 hours
  • Instructor's Course - 500 hours
  • Manicuring, Esthetics, Natural Hair - 400 hours 
  • Is 17 years of age or older
  • Is of good moral character  
  • Has an education equivalent to the completion of the ninth grade
  • Has Proof of Cosmetology License for the Instructor's Course

Gainful Employment Information: 

NAME AND SOC CODES

  • 39-5012.00 - Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologist
  • https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/39-5012.00
  • 25-1194.00 - Vocational Education Teachers, Postsecondary
  • https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/25-1194.00
  • 39-5092.00 - Manicurists and Pedicurists
  • https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/39-5092.00
  • 39-5094.00 - Skincare Specialists
  • https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/39-5094.00

Prerequisites for Employment: 

  • A valid license in the specific field of student to perform services in that field. 

Regulatory Oversight Restrictions: 

The State of Michigan regulates the Cosmetology Industry to protect consumers. In addition to other efforts, random and compliant related, unannounced inspections to salons, spa's, and other Cosmetology facilities are performed to verify compliance with the Sate of Michigan's Law and Rules for Cosmetology. 

Demands of the Profession:

  • Periods of long standing or sitting, physical stamina
  • Ability to listen and be tactful; interaction with various personalities
  • Dedicated to learning
  • Exposure to various chemicals
  • Develop artistic eye and manual/finger dexterity
  • Stylish and professional appearance/attire

Outcome Rate for 2016: 

  • Graduation: 90.91%
  • Licensure: 100%
  • placement: 70.00%

 

All Gainful Employment & Consumers Information may be obtained in physical form from Creative Hair School office of Administration.